Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

ICYMI: Walker Leads Letter to President Trump Encouraging Him to Fire IRS Commissioner Koskinen

January 30, 2017
Press Release
Walker, 52 House Conservatives: "The American people have no confidence in Commissioner Koskinen"

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Representative Mark Walker (R-N.C.) led a letter to President Trump encouraging him to remove Commissioner of Internal Revenue John Koskinen. The letter, which cites legal authority in 26 U.S.C. § 7803, is signed by U.S. Representative Jason Chaffetz (R-Utah), Chairman of the House Oversight & Government Reform Committee, U.S. Representative Bob Goodlatte (R-Va.), Chairman of the House Committee on the Judiciary, U.S. Representative Mark Meadows (R-N.C.), Chairman of the House Freedom Caucus, and 49 other House conservatives.

"The privileged and well-connected should not get to live and work by another standard, Walker said. "There is overwhelming evidence IRS Commissioner John Koskinen failed in performing his duties and misled Congress. The American people deserve accountability in government. That starts with removing Koskinen from his post and we hope President Trump will move to dismiss him expediently."

The full text of the letter and the full list of 53 signers can be seen here and below:

January 30, 2017

Dear President Trump,

The consideration of the impeachment of IRS Commissioner John Koskinen in the House in late 2016 was a clear indication that Congress and the American people have no confidence in Commissioner Koskinen or his ability to discharge his duties.

The IRS, through its targeting of citizens for their political beliefs, has forfeited the trust of a free people.  The IRS has admitted to improperly targeting conservative groups, delaying applications for tax-exempt status from 2010-2012, with at least 75 groups selected for extra scrutiny. Moreover, in August 2016, the D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals ruled that the IRS had yet to demonstrate that officials have definitively ceased targeting conservative groups. The ruling came at the heels of evidence that two targeted conservative groups continued to have delayed applications for tax-exempt status pending at the IRS. 

Congressional investigations, hearings, and actions have shown that Commissioner Koskinen misled Congress, obstructed investigations into the IRS, and failed to comply with Congressional subpoenas. Commissioner Koskinen’s willful deception and obstructionism has only further eroded any remaining confidence.

Pursuant to 26 U.S.C. § 7803, you have the authority to remove Commissioner Koskinen. We encourage you to dismiss him in the most expedient manner practicable.  Such an action would restore the credibility of our Federal tax authority and the faith the American people have in their Constitutional rights to free speech and association.


Rep. Mark Walker (NC-06)
Rep. Jason Chaffetz (UT-03)
Rep. Ted Budd (NC-13)
Rep. Bradley Byrne (AL-01)
Rep. Paul Gosar (AZ-04)
Rep. Mike Rogers (AL-03)
Rep. Steve King (IA-04)
Rep. Mark Sanford (SC-01)
Rep. Jeb Hensarling (TX-05)
Rep. Jeff Duncan (SC-03)
Rep. Vicky Hartzler (MO-04)
Rep. Louie Gohmert (TX-01)
Rep. Tom McClintock (CA-04)

Rep. Blake Farenthold (TX-27)
Rep. Michael Burgess, M.D. (TX-26)

Rep. Mike Turner (OH-10)
Rep. Mo Brooks (AL-05)
Rep. Doug Lamborn (CO-05)
Rep. Francis Rooney (FL-19)
Rep. Paul Mitchell (MI-10)
Rep. Robert Pittenger (NC-09)
Rep. Robert B. Aderholt (AL-04)
Rep. Roger Marshall (KS-01)
Rep. Tom Emmer (MN-06)
Rep. Doug LaMalfa (CA-01)
Rep. Jody Hice (GA-10)
Rep. John Ratcliffe (TX-04)
Rep. Barry Loudermilk (GA-11)
Rep. Gary Palmer (AL-06)
Rep. Ralph Abraham (LA-05)
Rep. David Rouzer (NC-07)
Rep. Richard Hudson (NC-08)
Rep. Buddy Carter (GA-01)
Rep. Ann Wagner (MO-02)
Rep. Jim Banks (IN-03)
Rep. Ted Yoho (FL-03)
Rep. Warren Davidson (OH-08)
Rep. Jodey Arrington (TX-19)
Rep. Scott Perry (PA-04)
Rep. Glenn Grothman (WI-06)
Rep. Joe Wilson (SC-02)
Rep. Ron DeSantis (FL-06)
Rep. Dave Brat (VA-07)
Rep. Randy Weber (TX-14) 
Rep. Dave Trott (MI-11)
Rep. Michael McCaul (TX-10)
Rep. Austin Scott (GA-08)
Rep. Brad Wenstrup (OH-02)
Rep. Mike Conaway (TX-11)
Rep. Trent Franks (AZ-08)
Rep. Bill Flores (TX-17)
Rep. Ted Poe (TX-02)
Rep. Bob Goodlatte (VA-06)
Rep. Mark Meadows (NC-11)
Rep. John Carter (TX-31)



Below is some of the media coverage on the letter:

WASHINGTON EXAMINER: Exclusive: Led by Republican Study Committee, 50 House GOPers tell Trump to fire IRS chief

“A faction of conservatives is circumventing leadership brass and calling directly on President Trump to tell IRS Chief John Koskinen, ‘You're fired.’ Rep. Mark Walker, R-N.C., will make the ask.”

THE HILL: RSC chairman urges Trump to dismiss IRS chief

“Republican Study Committee Chairman Mark Walker (R-N.C.) is circulating a letter to his colleagues urging President Trump to fire IRS Commissioner John Koskinen.

“‘Such an action would restore the credibility of our Federal tax authority and the faith the American people have in their Constitutional rights to free speech and association,’ the letter states.”